RTW Flight Ticket Review Articles

« Older Entries

Flight Fox RTW Ticket Review

Tuesday, September 2nd, 2014

In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria.

We researched the online site, Flight Fox, but we only searched them for one of the routes (Route 2), so we did NOT include them in our rankings and suggestions in the report.

Searching (and buying) on Flight Fox is different than going through a company specializing in multi-stop tickets or through the airline alliances. Because of this, and the fact that we only searched them on one of the three routes, we felt like it wasn’t an apples to apples comparison and thus would be unfair to include in our suggestions and rankings.

Flight Fox does offer unique pros and cons, and as you will see in our findings in the report.

If you have used Flight Fox for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

Specialized Agents RTW Ticket Review

Tuesday, September 2nd, 2014

In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Note: We used World Traveler’s Club out of San Francisco when researching for this report.

Price

Here is how the cost of searching these routes on SkyTeam Alliance compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: 2nd lowest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2: 3rd lowest price out of 7 options
  • Route 3: Lowest price out of 5

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: Slowest out of 9 options
  • Route 2: 4th fastest out of 7 options
  • Route 3: Slowest option out of 5

Frustration Factor

Specialized agents are travel agents who specialize in multi-stop fares, and for the purpose of this report, we used World Traveler’s Club based out of San Francisco, USA.

There is no online booking tool to use and not much in the way of information on the website about the details of a multi-stop ticket. Ther are sample itineraries to check out. Users fill out a form and wait for a response. Once you speak with a customer service rep, you find out there are no strict rules, terms, and conditions to worry about, and crafting your itinerary is easy.

You must speak (or email) with an agent to get a price and to book. We spoke with the same agent in all three searches, and she was friendly and helpful in answering all our questions.

The process for making changes once you book your ticket is similar to all other companies specializing in multi-stop fares outside of the airline alliances.

If you have used a specialized agent for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Specify who you used and leave a review below in the comments.

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

Indie RTW Ticket Review

Thursday, June 20th, 2013

Indie
In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Price

Here is how the cost of searching these routes on Indie compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: 3rd lowest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2: 4th lowest price out of 7 options
  • Route 3: Highest price out of 5 options

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: Fastest out of 9
  • Route 2: Fastest out of 7
  • Route 3: Fastest out of 5

Frustration Factor

Using Indie provides a great deal of flexibility in terms of route, with no limits on stops and no rules regarding mileage, traveling in one direction, etc. Plus Indie is the only company capable of offering an immediate, online bookable price on trips more than 6 legs.

Booking can be made completely online or with an agent. If you don’t find the online searching/pricing engine easy to use, there is a phone number, online contact form, and live chat (but the live chat is not manned 24 hours/day; in fact, it’s not clear what hours they are available).

The process for making changes once you book your ticket is similar to all other companies specializing in multi-stop fares outside of the airline alliances.

If you have used Indie for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

4.3/5 –
based on 1 reviews

Tags:
Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 1 Comment »

The Summer Version of the Around the World Airfare Report

Friday, June 22nd, 2012

When we first started talking about researching and writing a report on the state of round the world airfare, it excited us. Not because it hadn’t been done before, but because we knew that we were going to learn a ton about the industry by doing so.

When we published the first version back in March, we already had our eyes on the next version, which we just published this past week.

Download the free summer version of the Around the World Airfare Report

 

Your feedback – both positive and negative – drove us to create a bigger and better report this time around. One of the things most people liked about the report was that we searched real itineraries across a broad spectrum of companies, comparing not only price but customer service, search options, route flexibility, and date change flexibility.

So we did the same this time, coming up with two more routes – one a 6-flight RTW trip with a couple out of the way locations (Reykjavic and Moscow) and one an 11-flight (with 3 overland segments) RTW with a few out of the way places (Ushuaia, Sibu, and Ulan Bator).

The reason we chose these more difficult routes and far off or lesser traveled to places was to challenge each provider to see who was up to the task. Some passed with flying colors and had no problems getting us pricing on each route. Others wilted under the pressure and simply stopped responding after things got challenging.

In this version you can check out six sample routes with 30 prices checked, including a RTW provider scorecard. Like last time, we searched each route leaving from three different countries – USA, UK, and Australia. Unlike last time, we didn’t use the same companies for each departure city. Trying to simulate what a search would actually be like for a real traveler, we chose to only search companies in each departing country.

So go ahead download this free version of the RTW Airfare Report, and when you’re finished reading it, head on over to the RTW Report review page to offer your feedback so we can make the third version even better.

Thanks, and happy travels!

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

Student Flights (Australia) RTW Ticket Review

Friday, March 23rd, 2012

After releasing our Around the World Airfare Report, we have received a ton of great feedback that is only going to make our quarterly updates ever better and more beneficial for you, the RTW traveler.

We know that there are many more providers who sell round the world plane tickets than the eight we reviewed, and the feedback has offered more options.  The providers being suggested will be in the mix the next time we update the report in June.

Even though we haven’t reviewed this company yet, we wanted to put up a review page in case you have shopped for or bought a RTW ticket with them.  If you have, we want to hear from you.

If you’ve shopped for or used Student Flights Australia for a RTW ticket, please write a review below and rate them based on the stated criteria.  And if there are any other providers that aren’t yet listed, let us know.

The basics of a Student Flights Australia RTW Ticket

  • RTW tickets through Student Flights are not only for students.
  • They have specials just for students.
  • A RTW ticket offers flights with anywhere from 3 to 20 stops.
  • Student Flights has a series of predetermined routes that they sell.
  • If you have a particular itinerary in mind, you can email or call Student Flights and have them put an itinerary together for you.
  • You can also build you own itinerary online (with a max of 9 stops) and have a customer service rep get back to you.

If you have used Student Flights Australia for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Comment below to share your experience, and click on the stars below the comment box to rate.

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Tags: ,
Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

Student Flights (New Zealand) RTW Ticket Review

Thursday, March 22nd, 2012

After releasing our Around the World Airfare Report, we have received a ton of great feedback that is only going to make our quarterly updates ever better and more beneficial for you, the RTW traveler.

We know that there are many more providers who sell round the world plane tickets than the eight we reviewed, and the feedback has offered more options.  The providers being suggested will be in the mix the next time we update the report in June.

Even though we haven’t reviewed this company yet, we wanted to put up a review page in case you have shopped for or bought a RTW ticket with them.  If you have, we want to hear from you.

If you’ve shopped for or used Student Flights New Zealand for a RTW ticket, please write a review below and rate them based on the stated criteria.  And if there are any other providers that aren’t yet listed, let us know.

 

The basics of a Student Flights New Zealand RTW Ticket

  • RTW tickets through Student Flights are not only for students.
  • A RTW ticket offers flights with anywhere from 3 to 20 stops.
  • If you have a particular itinerary in mind, you can email or call Student Flights and have them put an itinerary together for you.

If you have used Student Flights New Zealand for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Comment below to share your experience, and click on the stars below the comment box to rate.

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Tags: ,
Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

Great Escapade RTW Ticket Review

Thursday, March 15th, 2012

After releasing our Around the World Airfare Report, we have received a ton of great feedback that is only going to make our quarterly updates ever better and more beneficial for you, the RTW traveler.

We know that there are many more providers who sell round the world plane tickets than the eight we reviewed, and the feedback has offered more options.  The providers being suggested will be in the mix the next time we update the report in June.

Even though we haven’t reviewed this company yet, we wanted to put up a review page in case you have shopped for or bought a RTW ticket with them.  If you have, we want to hear from you.

If you’ve shopped for or used Great Escapade for a RTW ticket, please write a review below and rate them based on the stated criteria.  And if there are any other providers that aren’t yet listed, let us know.

The basics of a Great Escapade RTW Ticket

  • use three airlines to piece together a RTW trip – Air New Zealand, Singapore Airlines, and Virgin Atlantic
  • use up to 29,000 miles
    • pay more to add more miles (130 GBP for 1500 miles up to 4500 miles)
  • cross the Atlantic and Pacific only once each
  • can make use of unlimited stopovers
  • has an online route planner and calculator (you cannot book online though)
  • must contact Virgin Atlantic, Air New Zealand, or a travel agent to book
  • have to leave from either London or Manchester, UK
  • overland segments count against your mileage

If you have used Great Escapade for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Comment below to share your experience, and click on the stars below the comment box to rate.

/5 –
based on 2 reviews

Tags: ,
Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 2 Comments »

Introducing the Around the World Airfare Report

Wednesday, March 7th, 2012

Hopefully by now you’ve probably seen and read the RTW flight reviews we published back in January. If not and this is all news to you, let me give you the story of how we came to publish our free Around the World Airfare Report.

About six months back we were discussing round the world plane tickets and all the options available for travelers wanting to take a long-term trip. As someone who has taken a RTW trip myself, I knew all too well the frustrations that come with trying to figure out the best option for traveling around the world.

Do I buy a RTW ticket from one of the alliances? If so, what are all those pesky terms and conditions all about? Do I go with a company like AirTreks who doesn’t have as many rules and conditions but makes you set your itinerary in advance? Are there any more companies out there who sell RTW tickets? Maybe I should just buy one-way tickets as I go? But that’s sure to be much more expensive than going with a traditional RTW ticket, right?

All are questions I had back in 2008 when we were planning our own RTW trip. Fast forward three years – I’m back from my trip, working for a travel company who also sells RTW tickets, and I honestly still didn’t know the answers to those questions.

Around the World Airfare Report

After discussing it more with colleagues, it seems that there aren’t many people who do know the ins and outs of RTW flights. Since we own this site called Round the World Ticket, shouldn’t we be the ones with authority on the subject? Shouldn’t we be the ones to provide these resources for travelers wanting to go on a RTW trip?

The answer was a resounding yes, so the research began. We started by coming up with three fictional itineraries. One was a super simple, 4-leg hub city RTW trip. One was a more complicated, 13 segment (9 flights, 4 overland) RTW trip. And the last was an extremely complicated, 17 leg (12 flights, 5 overland) RTW trip.

After coming up with the itineraries, it was time to shop them around.  We didn’t do this as employees of BootsnAll, we instead posed as customers for the most accuracy.  We spent the better part of two months emailing, calling, chatting, and compiling prices and information on the shopping process for these three RTW routes.  We shopped these itineraries among eight different companies, including one in the UK for our British friends and one in Australia for our friends down under.  We also wanted to see how the DIY model of purchasing a series of one-way tickets compared, so we searched via Kayak as well.

We began by publishing short reviews breaking down each company based on 5 criteria – price, search options, customer service, date flexibility, and route flexibility. We even asked you for your input on each company, so be sure to read through the comments to see what other customers had to say about each. And if you’ve used any of these yourself, please feel free to contribute your own review.

But we always had something bigger in mind. We had so much more information to share. So we organized it all and put out our Around the World Flight Report today. This 18-page report shows what ticket providers are cheapest for shorter or more complex RTW routes, offers nine sample routes with 60 prices checked, and includes a RTW provider scorecard, among other great information.

So if you are contemplating a RTW trip or in the middle of planning your own RTW trip, this is something you want to read. Taking 20-30 minutes to read through this report will save you literally hours, maybe even days of research. Our goal here isn’t to sway you one way or another – it is simply to provide the information. If it’s one thing that we learned from our research, it’s that there is no one best option for everyone. This isn’t a one-size-fits-all thing. Every traveler has different needs; it’s just a matter of finding out which one is best for you.

So go ahead and download the report, read it over, and please feel free to get back with us in the comments section of this post with any feedback – both positive and negative. Because the travel landscape is ever-changing, we plan to update this report 4 times a year, so any input you could offer to make the next version better, we’re all ears.

Thanks, and happy travels!

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Posted in Featured, RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

Special March 2012 Fares for RTW Tickets

Monday, March 5th, 2012

Many travelers consider themselves budget travelers, but what exactly does budget travel mean? Does it mean spending the least amount of money? Does it mean staying in hostel dorms and always cooking your own meals? Does it mean always traveling in inexpensive, developing countries? Does a term like budget travel really have to even be defined?

A recent article on BootsnAll challenged that exact question. The author wrote about the difference between budget travel and cheap travel. Based on all the comments, most of the readers agreed that there is indeed a difference, and budget travel doesn’t necessarily mean that you have to spend the least amount of money. In fact, most agreed that budget travel is all about getting the most value for your money, and value really does depend on the person.

The one thing that budget travelers do is take advantage of ways to save money and add value to his or her trip. Learning how to take advantage of services like Couchsurfing and traveling during shoulder season are both great ways to maximize your funds during any trip. What are your favorite budget travel tips?

If you’re planning an extended trip, then you want to start keeping an eye on airfare specials. BootsnAll has monthly deals that can take you all over the world, so be sure to check out the following deals, which are good through March, 2012:

  • RTW Sample -New York – Beijing – Hong Kong – Singapore – Bangkok – Saigon / Ho Chi Minh City – Paris – OVERLAND – London – Reykjavik – New York from $2498 plus taxes.
  • Hoofing It Around the World – New York – Bogota – OVERLAND – Sao Paulo – Johannesburg – OVERLAND – Nairobi – Istanbul – OVERLAND – Athens – Cairo – Dubai – OVERLAND – Muscat – Cochin / Kochi – OVERLAND – Calcutta / Kolkata – Bangkok – OVERLAND – Singapore – Yogyakarta – OVERLAND – Bali (Denpasar) – Hong Kong – OVERLAND – Beijing – New York from $3873 plus taxes.
  • Canuck’s Classic RTW – Vancouver – Beijing – Delhi – OVERLAND – Bombay / Mumbai – London – Rome – OVERLAND – Paris – Vancouver from $2525 plus taxes.

If you are looking for something a little different in your round the world trip, then start planning your trip of a lifetime with our RTW trip planner And don’t forget to sign up for BootsnAll’s RTW newsletter, delivering special deals, RTW trip planning advice, and resources via email every single month. We also have a Facebook fan page and Twitter page, so be sure to like and follow those to keep up to date on all your RTW travel needs.

/5 –
based on 1 reviews

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 1 Comment »

Designing Your Own Round the World Itinerary

Monday, February 20th, 2012

We recently completed a research project where we shopped 3 round the world itineraries from 8 different companies who sell RTW tickets. The following is a guest post about the DIY method of buying plane tickets as you go for your RTW trip.
 
In January 2010 I quit my job, sold everything I owned, and bought a one way ticket from Los Angeles to Bangkok. It was the beginning of a year-long round the world adventure that brought me to 20 different countries on 4 continents.

When I left on my trip I had a vague plan of the destinations I wanted to visit, but it was very important for me to have flexibility as well. I considered buying a pre-packaged round the world ticket, but decided to go the DIY route instead.

The main reasons I chose DIY were the flexibility and the price.

Flexibility

Most round the world tickets limit your travel time to 12 months. In my case this was an immediate deal breaker. I knew I may be gone for over 12 months. Even if you are planning a shorter trip, you never know what might happen.

You might take a job at a bar on the Mekong and linger in Laos for a few months. You may discover your new-found love for ice climbing in Norway and want to stay through the winter. The point is that with extended travel, flexibility is key.

The other main downside to round-the-world tickets is that by and large they require you to pick an itinerary including dates and destinations in advance. Having that kind of structure can only hurt a traveler’s journey.

Price

My trip around the world trip included 12 flights connecting South East Asia, Europe, the Middle East, Africa, and the United States. I covered a total of 38,000 miles at the bargain price of $3,256. That’s only 9 cents per mile—cheaper than driving! I have yet to find one round-the-world airfare quote for the same itinerary that can beat that price.

My DIY Round-the-World Itinerary

I booked this itinerary using only one-way airfares found by searching the web. While I racked up a lot of frequent flyer miles on the way I paid for all of these trips out of pocket. On average I bought the tickets I used about 2-3 months in advance for long haul flights and up to the very last minute for shorter flights.

The table below shows a summary of my flights. The mileages listed include the stopovers as indicated.

All said and done I took 12 flights and visited 4 continents. A little over half of these flights (7 of 12) were on budget carriers and were short distances. All of my long haul flights were on standard carriers. My most expensive flight on a cost per mile basis was my flight from Bucharest to Kos, Greece. This was probably due to two factors: one, I booked the flight evening before it left; and two, the leg from Athens to the island of Kos was on a tiny prop plane.

Looking back on it I flew a lot, and some of the time it wasn’t necessary. Had I wanted to save a little money I could have easily gone overland throughout South East Asia (skipping the Bangkok-Krabi and Bangkok-Phnom Penh-Bangkok flights and the flight within Indonesia from Denpasar to Yogyakarta). Had I skipped these flights I would have saved $245 on airfare.

Tips for Keeping on Budget

The best thing you can do to stay on budget is to be flexible. Flexibility in time and precise destination will go further and save you more money than any number of hours of searching the web for the cheapest fare.

One possible pitfall to booking independently is the trend towards egregious markups with long haul one-way fares. I found this was the biggest problem with flights between the US and Europe. You can usually find a way around it if you keep looking. Sometimes if you buy a refundable round trip ticket with plans to refund the second leg you can save some money.

While packaged round the world tickets may be perfect for some travelers, nothing beats the flexibility of relying on your own creativity and bargain hunting skills to create a round-the-world itinerary on the fly.

This was a guest post by Briana from Roll Global. For further reading you can look at her monthly budget for the entire trip here. You can also read more about her adventures, traveling, rock climbing and bicycle touring around the world on her website RollGlobal.org.

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

« Older Entries