RTW Flight Ticket Review Articles

« Older Entries

Flight Fox RTW Ticket Review

Tuesday, September 2nd, 2014

In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria.

We researched the online site, Flight Fox, but we only searched them for one of the routes (Route 2), so we did NOT include them in our rankings and suggestions in the report.

Searching (and buying) on Flight Fox is different than going through a company specializing in multi-stop tickets or through the airline alliances. Because of this, and the fact that we only searched them on one of the three routes, we felt like it wasn’t an apples to apples comparison and thus would be unfair to include in our suggestions and rankings.

Flight Fox does offer unique pros and cons, and as you will see in our findings in the report.

If you have used Flight Fox for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

Specialized Agents RTW Ticket Review

Tuesday, September 2nd, 2014

In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Note: We used World Traveler’s Club out of San Francisco when researching for this report.

Price

Here is how the cost of searching these routes on SkyTeam Alliance compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: 2nd lowest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2: 3rd lowest price out of 7 options
  • Route 3: Lowest price out of 5

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: Slowest out of 9 options
  • Route 2: 4th fastest out of 7 options
  • Route 3: Slowest option out of 5

Frustration Factor

Specialized agents are travel agents who specialize in multi-stop fares, and for the purpose of this report, we used World Traveler’s Club based out of San Francisco, USA.

There is no online booking tool to use and not much in the way of information on the website about the details of a multi-stop ticket. Ther are sample itineraries to check out. Users fill out a form and wait for a response. Once you speak with a customer service rep, you find out there are no strict rules, terms, and conditions to worry about, and crafting your itinerary is easy.

You must speak (or email) with an agent to get a price and to book. We spoke with the same agent in all three searches, and she was friendly and helpful in answering all our questions.

The process for making changes once you book your ticket is similar to all other companies specializing in multi-stop fares outside of the airline alliances.

If you have used a specialized agent for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Specify who you used and leave a review below in the comments.

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

Oneworld RTW Ticket Review

Monday, September 1st, 2014

In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Price

Here is how the cost of searching these routes on Oneworld Alliance compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: Highest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2: Unable to price this route
  • Route 3: Unable to price this route

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: 3rd fastest out of 9
  • Route 2: Unable to price this route
  • Route 3: Unable to price this route

Frustration Factor

As long as your route fits within their rules and regulations, you can get a price online, but we were unable to price 2 of the 3 routes we searched. There are a lot of rules and regulations when it comes to any airline alliance round the world ticket, so we recommend only using the alliances if you have a simpler route, or you are looking to cash in or build miles with a particular airline alliance.

Like other alliances, Oneworld Alliance is easier and cheaper when it comes to changing dates. Date changes are free, and if you book a Oneworld RTW ticket, you have to book your first international flight, date and all, but after that it’s possible to leave the dates open. Be aware; however, that date changes are subject to availability on the flight a customer wants to change to, so by waiting too long, it’s possible to be shut out.

If you have used Oneworld Alliance for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 15 Comments »

AirTreks RTW Ticket Review

Monday, September 1st, 2014

AirtreksIn the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Price

Here is how the cost of searching these routes on AirTreks compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: 4th lowest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2: 5th lowest price out of 7 options
  • Route 3: 3rd lowest price out of 5 options

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: 7th fastest out of 9
  • Route 2: 6th fastest out of 7
  • Route 3: 4th fastest out of 5

Frustration Factor

The online booking tool is easy and simple. And with no strict rules, terms, and conditions to worry about, crafting your itinerary is extremely easy. AirTreks also offers the best customer service and most expertise on long-term, multi-stop airfare and travel out of all the companies we searched.

You must speak (or email) with an agent to get a price and to book, so it may take a little longer than other options. We were in constant communication with their representatives, and they always answered our questions in a timely manner. One of the pluses of working with AirTreks is that each customer is assigned a personal travel consultant to work with, and they really do try to accommodate your travel needs, and they take the time to find out exactly what it is you want out of this trip and don’t pressure you or try to talk you into doing more than you want.

The process for making changes once you book your ticket is similar to all other companies specializing in multi-stop fares outside of the airline alliances.

If you have used AirTreks for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

4.2/5 –
based on 4 reviews

Tags: ,
Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 4 Comments »

SkyTeam Alliance RTW Ticket Review

Monday, September 1st, 2014

In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Price

Here is how the cost of searching these routes on SkyTeam Alliance compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: 7th lowest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2:Unable to price this route
  • Route 3: Unable to price this route

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: 4th fastest out of 9
  • Route 2: Unable to price this route
  • Route 3: Unable to price this route

Frustration Factor

As long as your route fits within their rules and regulations, you can get a price online, but we were unable to price 2 of the 3 routes we searched. There are a lot of rules and regulations when it comes to any airline alliance round the world ticket, so we recommend only using the alliances if you have a simpler route, or you are looking to cash in or build miles with a particular airline alliance.

Like other alliances, SkyTeam Alliance is easier and cheaper when it comes to changing dates. Date changes are free, and if you book a SkyTeam RTW ticket, you have to book your first international flight, date and all, but after that it’s possible to leave the dates open. Be aware; however, that date changes are subject to availability on the flight a customer wants to change to, so by waiting too long, it’s possible to be shut out.

If you have used SkyTeam Alliance for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 1 Comment »

Star Alliance RTW Ticket Review

Monday, September 1st, 2014

In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Price

Here is how the cost of searching these routes on Star Alliance compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: 8th lowest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2: Highest price out of 7 options
  • Route 3: Unable to price this route

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: 2nd fastest out of 9
  • Route 2: 3rd fastest out of 7
  • Route 3: Unable to price this route

Frustration Factor

When searching online for a simple round the world route, it was quick, easy, and painless. If the route is not complicated, the entire process can be done online, and their Book and Fly tool is simple to navigate. As long as your route fits within their rules and regulations, you can get a price online.

If a customer tries to search a more complicated route; however, finding a price becomes more difficult, as evidenced in the third route as they were unable to give us a price. For route 1, it’s important to note that they could not price the route how we wanted, as the rules require tickets to begin and end in the same country.

Like other alliances, Star Alliance is easier and cheaper when it comes to changing dates. Date changes are free, and if you book a Star Alliance RTW ticket, you have to book your first international flight, date and all, but after that it’s possible to leave the dates open. Be aware; however, that date changes are subject to availability on the flight a customer wants to change to, so by waiting too long, it’s possible to be shut out.

If you have used Star Alliance for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 1 Comment »

STA Travel RTW Ticket Review

Monday, September 1st, 2014

In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Price

Here is how the cost of searching these routes on STA Travel compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: 5th lowest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2: 6th lowest price out of 7 options
  • Route 3: 4th lowest price out of 5 options

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: 6th fastest out of 9
  • Route 2: Slowest out of 7
  • Route 3: 3rd fastest out of 5

Frustration Factor

When searching, customers can send in an enquiry using their Request a Round the World Flight Quote page. There are also chat options and a toll free phone number if you want to go either of those routes. There are no rules on stops or mileage, travelers can begin and end their trip anywhere, and they can travel in whichever direction they want.

The process for making changes once you book your ticket is similar to all other companies specializing in multi-stop fares outside of the airline alliances, but if you are a student and qualify for their Student Exclusive Tickets, there are special date change and refund rules. Each customer will have their own travel expert to work with, and the travel expert can help with any changes customers may need to make after booking a ticket.

If you have used STA Travel for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

3.6/5 –
based on 2 reviews

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 2 Comments »

DIY (Do It Yourself) RTW Ticket Review

Monday, September 1st, 2014

In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Note: Keep in mind that we searched these flights all at once. In a typical Round the World scenario, the traveler would be booking flights as he or she went, and we all know how prices fluctuate, so use this only as a guide. We also only searched Kayak, so there could be better deals to be had on smaller, regional airlines that Kayak doesn’t cover.

Price

Here is how the cost of searching all one-way flights on Kayak compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: Lowest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2: 2nd lowest price out of 7 options
  • Route 3: 2nd lowest price out of 5 options

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: 5th fastest out of 8
  • Route 2: 2nd fastest out of 7
  • Route 3: 2nd fastest out of 5

Note: This is not an accurate comparison to a real searching scenario for long-term travelers, as most who choose this option for their airfare want flexibility and don’t want to search and book all their flights in advance. In most cases, travelers will be doing these searches while on the road, possibly with their own computer in a hostel or maybe in an internet cafe, where internet speeds will vary. Keep that in mind when making your decision.

Frustration Factor

This option obviously provides the most flexibility in terms of route and dates because the traveler ultimately decides when he or she wants to book. The main downfall is that if you wait too long, the price could go up dramatically. But on the flip side, you can also find last minute deals.

Choosing this method gives you the ultimate flexibility in routes. But it pays to do some research before leaving. For example, getting from South America to Southeast Asia or Australasia can be complicated and expensive even when you do it on your own, so it pays to know ahead of time which routes/destinations may be pricey.

If you have used the Do It Yourself method for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 7 Comments »

Indie RTW Ticket Review

Monday, September 1st, 2014

Indie
In the latest version of the Around the World Airfare Report, we shopped prices for RTW plane tickets from nine different companies and rated each company based on three criteria:

  • Price: How much does it cost?
  • Service speed: How long does it take to get a bookable price?
  • Frustration factor: How frustrating is the process of building and pricing a multi-stop route?

Price

Here is how the cost of searching these routes on Indie compared to other companies for each of the three routes we searched:

  • Route 1: 3rd lowest price out of 9 options
  • Route 2: 4th lowest price out of 7 options
  • Route 3: Highest price out of 5 options

Service speed

Here is how the speed of searches compared to other companies we searched.

  • Route 1: Fastest out of 9
  • Route 2: Fastest out of 7
  • Route 3: Fastest out of 5

Frustration Factor

Using Indie provides a great deal of flexibility in terms of route, with no limits on stops and no rules regarding mileage, traveling in one direction, etc. Plus Indie is the only company capable of offering an immediate, online bookable price on trips more than 6 legs.

Booking can be made completely online or with an agent. If you don’t find the online searching/pricing engine easy to use, there is a phone number, online contact form, and live chat (but the live chat is not manned 24 hours/day; in fact, it’s not clear what hours they are available).

The process for making changes once you book your ticket is similar to all other companies specializing in multi-stop fares outside of the airline alliances.

If you have used Indie for your round the world trip, we want to hear from you. Leave a review below in the comments.

4.3/5 –
based on 1 reviews

Tags:
Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | 1 Comment »

The Summer Version of the Around the World Airfare Report

Friday, June 22nd, 2012

When we first started talking about researching and writing a report on the state of round the world airfare, it excited us. Not because it hadn’t been done before, but because we knew that we were going to learn a ton about the industry by doing so.

When we published the first version back in March, we already had our eyes on the next version, which we just published this past week.

Download the free summer version of the Around the World Airfare Report

 

Your feedback – both positive and negative – drove us to create a bigger and better report this time around. One of the things most people liked about the report was that we searched real itineraries across a broad spectrum of companies, comparing not only price but customer service, search options, route flexibility, and date change flexibility.

So we did the same this time, coming up with two more routes – one a 6-flight RTW trip with a couple out of the way locations (Reykjavic and Moscow) and one an 11-flight (with 3 overland segments) RTW with a few out of the way places (Ushuaia, Sibu, and Ulan Bator).

The reason we chose these more difficult routes and far off or lesser traveled to places was to challenge each provider to see who was up to the task. Some passed with flying colors and had no problems getting us pricing on each route. Others wilted under the pressure and simply stopped responding after things got challenging.

In this version you can check out six sample routes with 30 prices checked, including a RTW provider scorecard. Like last time, we searched each route leaving from three different countries – USA, UK, and Australia. Unlike last time, we didn’t use the same companies for each departure city. Trying to simulate what a search would actually be like for a real traveler, we chose to only search companies in each departing country.

So go ahead download this free version of the RTW Airfare Report, and when you’re finished reading it, head on over to the RTW Report review page to offer your feedback so we can make the third version even better.

Thanks, and happy travels!

/5 –
based on 0 reviews

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in RTW Flight Ticket Review | No Comments »

« Older Entries